Skip survey header

Notice of the 2020 NGS Annual Meeting, Nominations, and Election of Officers and Board Members, Tuesday, September 1, 2020

The Annual Meeting of the National Genealogical Society (NGS) will be held virtually at 6:30 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time on Tuesday, 1 September 2020. During the annual meeting, results of the 2020 NGS Board elections will be shared with the membership.

The 2020 election of officers and board members will be conducted entirely online. The election will open at 1 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time on Friday, 28 August 2020, and close at 6:45 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time on Tuesday, 1 September 2020. Once you vote, you will not be able to revise your vote.

For information on the 2020 election, a map of the director regions, and requirements for board membership, see 2020 Election Positions.

In addition to nominations made by the committee, nominations may be made by a petition. For more information on the petition process see 2020 Election Positions or contact NGS by phone at 703-525-0050 or 800-473-0060 to request a petition form.

Elected officers will serve a two-year term beginning 1 October 2020, and directors will serve a four-year term beginning 1 October 2020, unless they are filling an unexpired term or a new seat for which the initial term is two-years. The new seats are designed to expand the ability and capacity of the board during the merger with FGS and will continue as long as required. These board seats have all the same rights and responsibilities of the other seats on the Board.

The nominations made by the NGS Nominating Committee are:
Position Name Home State Term
President Kathryn M. Doyle California 2020–2022
Vice President Ellen Pinckney Balthazar, MS Texas 2020–2022
Vice President of Society & Organization Management / Director at Large4    Cheri Hudson Passey South Carolina 2020–2022
Secretary Ed Donakey Utah 2020–2022
Treasurer Deborah Lebo Hoskins, CPA Pennsylvania 2020–2022
Director, Region Two2 Faye Stallings, CG Texas 2020–2022
Director, Region Three Janet L. Bailey Virginia 2020–2024
Director, Region Four Bernice Alexander Bennett Maryland 2020–2024
Director at Large2 David Rencher, AG, CG, FIGRS, FUGA Utah 2020–2022
Director at Large Colleen Robledo Greene, MLIS California 2020–2024
Director at Large Marlis Humphrey Florida 2020–2024
Director at Large3 Andre Kearns Washington, DC 2020–2024
Director at Large4 Janet A. Alpert, FNGS South Carolina 2020–2022

1New Officer role.
2Unexpired seat.
3New seat.
4New seat. The initial term is two-years in order to have a balanced number of board seats up for election each cycle.

To review biographical information of the officer nominees, please click here